First Impressions: Our Girl

Lacey Turner as Molly Dawes in the BBC drama Our Girl.

BBC drama Our Girl aired on TVNZ here in New Zealand last Sunday and since then I’ve been hooked on the 6-episode series, after only watching the pilot over two weekends. Our Girl follows 18-year-old Molly Dawes (Lacey Turner) and her journey to become a Combat Medical Technician in the British Army, to escape her dead-end job, father and cheating boyfriend.

I think what has me hooked on this series is Molly’s character. She’s feisty, courageous and doesn’t take s**** from anybody and to me that’s a powerful woman. But she’s not without her vulnerabilities and that’s what makes her so endearing and more importantly that’s what makes her human and relatable. She loves her family and battles with leaving them behind to find her own purpose in life and she ultimately wants to be loved. Molly’s determination to make her life better and her strength not to give up in the face of diversity really drive her story and coupled with the fact that the narrative is centered around the military really makes this series a winner for me (so far anyway).

It’s also nice to see a strong female character at the center of the militarized narrative for a change. I’ve watched series like Strike Back where there’s been strong female leads, but they didn’t drive and dominate the narrative, so I found I couldn’t engage and relate with the narrative as well as I am with Our Girl. I’m also enjoying the fact that Molly is an army medic, so there’s also that side I haven’t seen before in my television viewing.

Stay tuned, I’ll be back with all of my thoughts on Our Girl in a few weeks.

If you haven’t seen the series, you can check out the trailer for the special and the series below.

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Our Girl: A Review | Square Eyes

Leave a Reply

